Wednesday 11 July 2012

Five For Free #95

Audacity - Garza Girls

This week sees Californian jangly rock types Audacity release their second album 'Mellow Cruisers', the follow-up to 2009's debut 'Power Drowning'. Free track 'Garza Girls' mixes indiepop sounds with punk and alt-rock as it chops and changes for three minutes, never quite knowing where to settle. It all makes for a wonderfully ramshackle listen.

Audacity's website

Stream the album in full

Buy the album

The Hundred In The Hands - Keep It Low

'Keep It Low' is a free download single from Brooklyn duo The Hundred In The Hands and is taken from their second album 'Red Night' which was released in the UK last month. The track is their typical blend of new-wave, house and synth-pop, this time they concoct a slightly spooky atmosphere with lots of twisted vocal samples and swooshes and clanging synths.

The Hundred In The Hands' website

Stream the album in full

Buy the album

Parlovr - You Only Want It 'Cause You're Lonely

Montreal trio Parlovr recently released their their new mini-album 'Kook Soul' in the UK, an album which saw them listed for the Polaris music prize (Canada's equivalent of the Mercurys), and taken from it is the sublime free track 'You Only Want It 'Cause You're Lonely'. The gentle opening soon gives way to one of the band's brilliantly huge sounding choruses.

Parlovr's website

Stream the album in full

Buy the album

Eluusif - I Love My Daft Punk

According to his website Eluusif is a "4008 year old [who] has a mission from the Founding Fathers on a distant planet called EDM Prime to spread the word of Electronic Dance Music". We're not gullible or anything but we believe that. So here's excellent new track 'I Love My Daft Punk' which, as the title suggests, has a touch of LCD Soundsystem about it.

Eluusif's website

Tame Impala - Apocalypse Dreams

Australian psych-rockers Tame Impala have spent much of this year in the shadow of Pond, a band they share members with and whose new album has gained them to widespread acclaim. 'Apocalypse Dreams' is the first track from Tame Impala's new album, expected in October, and should go some way to swinging the attention back to them. Although we're sure there's no competition between the two...

Tame Impala's website

For more news, reviews and downloads follow The Sound Of Confusion on Facebook or Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment