Saturday 12 May 2012

Five For Free #78

Sea Pinks - Staycation

What better way to kick things off than with some clattery, summery indiepop. Sea Pinks are a new band formed by Girl's Names drummer Neil, and free download 'Staycation' has the lo-fi vibe of an early Beach Boys demo about it. If it's physical product you want, then this track is also available on a limited edition cassette titled 'The Flipside - Demos & Outtakes Vol 1.'

Sea Pinks' website

Buy the album

Golden Fable - Blueprints

The wonderful Cocteau Twins meets Four Tet hum of 'Blueprints' is brought to us by Welsh duo Golden Fable and was originally released as the B-side to single 'Always Golden' at the start of the year. It gets a welcome airing as a free download in the lead up to the release of their self-produced debut album 'Star Map' which is set for release in the summer.

To download 'Blueprints' for free head here

Golden Fable's website

Buy the single

Horse Feathers - Fit Against The Country

Portland indie-folk band Horse Feathers recently released their fourth album 'Cynic's New Year' and latest single 'Fit Against The Country' is free to download below. As well as drawing comparisons to modern alternative Americana bands, this track has an early 70s vibe that suggests Neil Young as well as copyists 'America', but its soft vocal and gently plucked guitar are a worthwhile update.

Horse Feathers' website

Buy the album

Jonathan Boulet - This Song Is Called Ragged

Australian Jonathan Boulet will be releasing his album 'We Keep The Beat, Found The Sound, See The Need, Start The Heart' is out in June and as well as a lengthy title it looks set to offer up some fantastic experimental indie/pop tunes such as free track 'This Song Is Called Ragged' which mixes familiar indie/folk sounds with a tropical influence and at least a couple of kitchen sinks.

To download 'This Song Is Called Ragged' for free head here

Jonathan Boulet's website

Pre-order the album

[The] Slowest Runner [In All The World] - Zoe Machete Control

I know you're thinking "blimey, this song's thirteen minutes long", but if you're thinking of skipping it then you're missing out. Brooklyn sextet '[The] Slowest Runner [In All The World]' originally released their 'We, Burning Giraffes' album in 2010 but it's recently received a digital reissue on Australian label 'Big Rig Records'. 'Zoe Machete Control' is a wonderful piece of delicate post-rock that builds and impresses throughout its duration.

[The] Slowest Runner [In All The World]'s website

Stream or buy the album

For more news, reviews and downloads follow The Sound Of Confusion on Facebook or Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment