Saturday 21 April 2012

Five For Free #72

Pale Man Made - In Your Bed

Newcastle band Pale Man Made hark back to the alternative music scene of the early 90s, using the same ingredients as many bands of that era and moulding them into two and a half minutes of buzzing, melodic indie with a DIY ethic, punk energy and C86 spirit. They sound a little bit like a lot of your favourite bands so tuck in to their new single 'In Your Bed' which is free from Odd Box Records.

Free download: 'In Your Bed'

Pale man Made's website

Buy the single

Cat Martino - I Promise

Brooklyn singer-songwriter Cat Martino is the latest artist to be featured as part of Weathervane Music's Shaking Through series. Atmospheric, emotive new track 'I Promise' was recorded over the course of a weekend in March and was only written the week before. The track features Sufjan Stevens and Man Man drummer Christopher Powell.

Cat Martino's website

Shaking Through's website

Warm Digits - A Warm Front, Coming From The North

The duo that make up Warm Digits clearly have a taste for vintage electronica and are not shy of combining it with a decent tune. Their debut album 'Keep Warm With The Warm Digits' got some great reviews and the combination of analogue sounds and organic drumming gives free track 'A Warm Front, Coming From The North' an early Kraftwerk feel, and it's bloody brilliant to boot.

The Warm Digits' website

Buy the album

The Avalanche - Throw Away The Rest

There's been a barrage of top quality shoegaze and dreampop coming from Scandinavia in the past few years and it looks set to continue with the aptly named The Avalanche. This Norwegian band engulf you in a cascade of reverb and feedback that's tuneful and noisy at the same time, as you can hear on single 'Throw Away The Rest'. A UK release for their album is due later this year.

The Avalanche's website

Buy the single

Vertebrae - Crisis Apparition

Vertebrae is the brainchild of Irish-born, London-based singer-songwriter Daire Mulvihill whose debut album 'Between The Devil & The Deep Blue Sea' has recently been made available for download. 'Crisis Apparition' is a robust acoustic track enriched by gentle percussion and a chorus of voices. It's the kind of emotive, powerful ballad that's made Frank Turner such a big draw of late.

Vertebrae's website

Stream or download the album

For more news, reviews and downloads follow The Sound Of Confusion on Facebook or Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment