Wednesday 30 November 2011

Five For Free #34

Psychic Babble - Let Me Change

Colin Frangicetto is the guitarist in Circa Survive and as his solo project Psychic Babble he's self-released his debut album 'My Brother's Ears/My Sister's Eyes'. Free track 'Let Me Change' is waves of lush, laid-back sparkling harmonies; it's a genre he terms "Shrug Wave", which kind of fits, but this track deserves far more than a shrug. It's more like "Chillwave but with actual songs".

Psychic Babble - Let Me Change by Alcyoneslight

Psychic Babble's website

Buy the album.

Exlovers - Starlight, Starlight

London quintet Exlovers are gearing up for the release of their debut album in the new year and are offering new single 'Starlight, Starlight' as a free taster. It's a great piece of energetic, melodic indiepop in the vein of an early Pains Of Being Pure At Heart and is the best we've heard from them yet. If this is an indicator of things to come then their album should be very special.

Starlight, Starlight by NYLONmag

Exlovers' website

Choir Of Young Believers

Choir Of Young Believers are a six-strong orchestral pop collective formed in Denmark. Their debut album 'This Is For The White In Your Eyes' was released in 2008 and they're currently putting the finishing touches to follow up 'Rhine Gold'. The first track taken from it is free download 'Patricia's Thirst' which you can pick up for free below.

Choir of Young Believers - Patricia's Thirst by ghostly

Choir Of Young Believers' website

Pre-order the album.

Sinkane - Jeeper Creeper

Once you've listened to 'Jeeper Creeper' it will come as no surprise to learn that Sinkane is the solo guise of Yeasayer's multi-instrumentalist Ahmed Gallab who releases new album 'Mars' soon. This free sample shares his other band's elastic, meandering basslines and slightly African Rhythms. It's easily on a par with their stuff too. Click the link below to download it free.

Free download: Jeeper Creeper

Sinkane's website

Officers - The Competition Winner

Leeds quartet Officers have recently released their debut album 'On The Twelve Thrones'. Free track 'The Competition Winner' is an ambitious slab of experimental electro-rock that brings to mind Pure Reason Revolution. Beginning in a steady fashion, this track builds into a convention-busting epic which suggests they may be a little better known before too long. It's also happens to be Gary Numan's favourite album of the year.

The free download of 'The Competition Winner' is available from Track In A Box

Officers' website

Buy the album.

For more news reviews and downloads follow The Sound Of Confusion on Facebook or Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment