Thursday 24 November 2011

Five For Free #33

Sharon Van Etten - Serpents

Brooklyn singer-songwriter Sharon Van Etten is set to release her third album 'Tramp' in February on Jagjaguar. The album was recorded in Aaron Dessner from The National's studio and he also takes on production duties. The famous guests don't stop there, the dark and moody single 'Serpents' features members of The National, Doveman, The Walkmen and Wye Oak.

Sharon Van Etten - Serpents by Pretty Much Amazing

Sharon Van Etten's website

Buy the single.

The Bats - Simpletons

Underground heroes The Bats have been together for almost thirty years and in that time they're seen many of their New Zealand/Flying Nun Records contemporaries come and go. The influential indie rockers certainly have staying power, and this week they release new album 'Free All The Monsters' (on the legendary Flying Nun label of course) and you can pick up 'Simpletons' below.

Free download: Simpletons

The Bat's website

Buy the album.

Young Dreams - Young Dreams

Whether Young Dreams are named after the Elvis song of the same name is unclear, but it seems unlikely that The King is much of an influence on their eclectic dream-pop sound. The Norwegians are set to release their debut album next year and taken from it is 'Young Dreams', a breezy, tropical take on Beach Boys-style pop with a shimmery, distant yet intricate sound. It's absolutely lovely.

Young Dreams - Young Dreams by modularpeople

Young Dreams' website

Sea Lions - Grown Up

Californian five-piece Sea Lions release their debut album 'Everything You Always Wanted To Know About Sea Lions But Were Afraid To Ask' this week on the ever reliable Slumberland Records. Single 'Grown Up is a wonderful piece of summery, melodic indiepop that's both jangley and slightly fuzzy. Effortless, sweet, harmonious and rather addictive.

Sea Lions - Grown Up by Slumberland Records

Sea Lions' website

Buy the album.

Pujol - Mayday

Nashville garage band Pujol are led by singer-songwriter Daniel Pujol and in the past have caught the ear of Jack White who has produced for them. Following their appearance at CMJ they release their new EP 'Nasty, Brutish, And Short' which is out now. You can pick up the EP's stand-out track, the gritty 'Mayday' by clicking on the little black arrow below.

Pujol - Mayday by The Wounded Jukebox

Pujol's website

Buy the EP.

For more news, reviews and downloads follow The Sound Of Confusion on Facebook or Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment