Friday 11 November 2011

Five For Free #28

Tommy Toussaint - Summer USA

"Sound and light enthusiast" Tommy Toussaint (Jesse Thompson to his friends) is a long time member of Dent May's band has also been going it alone for the past year or so. 'Summer USA' will be his first 7" release and follows a cassette EP last year. It's a lovely experimental pop track with a sunny, uplifting chorus and twinkly electronics. Hopefully he has more of these lying in wait.

Tommy Toussaint - Summer USA by make-mine

Free download: Summer USA

Tommy Toussaint on Facebook

Pre-order the single.

Honey - Nowhere Floating

Glaswegians Honey make widescreen psychedelic rock with skyscraping guitar hooks and a complete and epic sound. Their debut EP was released in June (you can download it for free here) and they're following it up with new single 'Nowhere Floating' which is also available for free. Fans of big sounding guitar/shoegaze bands will find plenty here to enjoy.

Honey on Facebook

Teebs - Cook, Clean, Pay The Rent (New House Version)

Producer Teebs began his career as a visual artist before turning to music, inspired by his mentors Flying Lotus and Samiyan. Here he follows up last years' debut album 'Ardour' with 'Cook, Clean, Pay The Rent' which mixes laid back beats with soaring samples to create an atmospheric track that's part retro, part futuristic and delightful as a whole.

Teebs - Cook, Clean, Pay The Rent (New House Version) by BRAINFEEDER

Free download: Cook, Clean, Pay The Rent (New House Version)

Teebs on Facebook

Buy the album.

Pepper Rabbit - Murder Room

Californian psych pop duo Pepper Rabbit have recently released new album 'Red Velvet Snowball' and taken from it is free download 'Murder Room', a shimmering, summery piece of off-kilter sunshine with pounding drums, spangley glitches and harmonious vocals. It's a track that deserves a lot more coverage than it's got. Click on the download arrow below and see for yourself..

Murder Room by Pepper Rabbit

Pepper Rabbit's website

Buy the album.

We Were Promised Jetpacks - Act On Impulse

Scottish quartet We Were Promised Jetpacks released their new album 'In The Pit Of The Stomach' at the start of October and they're offering up this free track as a taster. The slow burning 'Act On Impulse' is a brooding mess of clattering drums and sparse guitar lines that create a moody feel which is lightened by the relaxed vocals. Grab it below.

We Were Promised Jetpacks' website

Buy the album.

For more news, reviews and downloads follow The Sound Of Confusion on Facebook or Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment