Saturday 17 December 2011

Out This Week - 19th December 2011

Alabama Shakes - You Ain't Alone

Every man and his dog have been banging on about Alabama Shakes lately, but whereas most bands that get the major label A&R men flashing cheque books turn out to be rubbish, this lot have real power and soul. They signed to indie label Rough Trade instead and their debut EP is out this week. Brittany Howard has a hell of a voice and 'You Ain't Alone' is like a 'You Don't Have To Say You Love Me'/'Hey Jude' hybrid.

Alabama Shakes - You Ain't Alone by The Vinyl District

Alabama Shakes' website

Buy the EP.

Memoryhouse - The Kids Were Wrong

Wherever you've turned in 2011 there seemed to have been a boy/girl duo making records and the trend could continue into next year. Memoryhouse released a promising EP late last year and since then have been preparing debut album 'The Slideshow Effect', due out in February. First single 'The Kids Were Wrong' more high tempo than before and a real step up. The album should be a corker.

Memoryhouse's website

Pre-order the album.

Bleached - Electric Chair

In this here previous post we gave you one of the tracks from the new single by LA noise-pop band Bleached and the full single is now available to download in the UK (vinyl to follow next month). Joining 'Searching Through The Past' on this release is 'Electric Chair', a fuzzy blast of melodic punk that buzzes with energy. This is best experienced at maximum volume.

Bleached's website

Buy the album.

My Morning Jacket - Friends Again

Kentucky veterans My Morning Jacket recently got festive for an iTunes Session EP and they're now giving us a limited edition 7" single entitled 'Friends Again'. The song has been performed live for over a year now and was apparently written for a Muppets project that never happened so it's taken a while to surface in official form. It may remind you of 'Yoshimi...' by The Flaming Lips.

Stream or download 'Friends Again' by heading here

Buy the single.


Little My - Oh Don't Go Darlin'

Welsh indiepop supergroup Little My (they do/have contained members of The School, Los Campesinos!, Gindrinker, Silence At Sea and The Voluntary Butler Scheme) vowed to make 10 EPs before splitting and this week we're treated to the final instalment, confusingly titled 'Fifth'. Just to prove how indie they are the EP will be limited to 160 vinyl copies but you can download the utterly lovely 'Oh Don't Go Darlin'' for free below.

Free download: Oh Don't Go Darlin'

Little My's website

Buy the EP.

For more news, reviews and downloads follow The Sound Of Confusion on Facebook or Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment